Reckless Driving Tickets

Reckless driving is a crime in New York.  A criminal conviction for reckless driving will be added to your permanent record.  This means that future background checks will identify you as having a criminal record.  A criminal record can potentially have negative effects on your ability to find a job, attend college, find housing, and more.  Contact The Shelton Law Firm if you have been charged with reckless driving.

Reckless Driving - NY VTL 1212

Reckless driving in New York is defined as driving or using a motor vehicle "in a manner which unreasonably interferes with the free and proper use of the public highway, or unreasonably endangers users of the public highway."  In order to prove reckless driving, the prosecution must establish more than mere negligence.  A single traffic violation without additional aggravating acts or circumstances is not sufficient to constitute reckless driving.


Reckless driving is a criminal misdemeanor.  The penalties for reckless driving include:

  • 5 points on your license
  • Up to a $300 fine
  • Court surcharge of $93
  • A significant insurance rate increase
  • Up to 30 days in jail

The fines and jail time increase with additional reckless driving convictions in any 18 month period. A second reckless driving conviction within 18 months of the first attaches up to a $525 fine and 90 days in jail.  A third conviction within 18 months of the first attaches up to a $1,125 fine and 180 days in jail.  

A reckless driving conviction also increases the risk of your license being suspend or revoked.  Accumulate 11 points in any 18 month period and your license will be suspended.  Additionally, your license will be revoked for 6 months if you receive 3 speeding and/or misdemeanor traffic violations in any 18 month period. 

Depending on your circumstances, a reckless driving conviction might also subject you to the driver responsibility assessment.  Accrue 6 points on your driving record in any 18 month period and you will be subject to the driver responsibility assessment.  The driver responsibility assessment costs $300 for the first 6 points and $75 for each point thereafter.

It is easy to see how costly a reckless driving ticket can be.  Assume you receive two tickets, one for speeding 76 mph in a 55 mph zone (6 points) and one for reckless driving (5 points).  Your driving record is otherwise clean.  If you plead guilty to both charges, you will be subject to the following penalties:

  • A criminal record
  • 11 points on your license
  • 31 day license suspension for accumulating 11 points
  • Up to $450 in fines
  • Court surcharge of $186
  • Driver Responsibility Assessment of $675
  • Possible jail time

The costs do not stop there, receive another speeding or misdemeanor traffic violation in the next 18 months and your license will be revoked for 6 months.  Imagine being unable to drive to work, school or the grocery store for 6 months.

Contact A Reckless Driving Ticket Attorney

Contact The Shelton Law Firm if you receive a reckless driving ticket.  The Shelton Law Firm understands the reckless driving statute and the related case law.  We are familiar with the Hudson Valley courts and will work diligently to defend your rights.  With the Shelton Law Firm on your side, you have the peace of mind to know that your reckless driving ticket attorney will zealously defend your rights.